Sign In   |   Join NAFCD
Leadership in Action Award
Share |

Recognition of Outstanding Leadership

The Leadership in Action Award recognizes individuals for the positive impact and meaningful contributions that they have made to their company’s success. This is an opportunity to highlight a future leader within your company. Submissions are due by September 15, 2017 and winners are announced in November at the NAFCD + NBMDA Annual Convention. Click here to download a submission form.

2016 Leadership in Action Award Winners

Congratulations to Russell Rogg of Metroflor Corporation, Mike Barrett of Haines, and Shawn Gagg of Jaeckle Distributors who have been selected as the Leadership in Action winners for 2016!

Russell Rogg of Metroflor Corporation
Russell has been a leader in the flooring industry for over 18 years. He was director of sales for Wilsonart Flooring for 13 years, and president and CEO of Metroflor for over 5 years. Russ handled the exit of Wilsonart Flooring with class and made distribution the number one priority. Russ brings the same attitude to Metroflor. He was recognized this year as one of the ten most influential people the flooring industry by Floor Covering News. Russ is a true leader, mentor and innovator in this industry.


Mike Barrett of Haines

Mike joined Haines in February 2015 as Vice President of Operations, with warehouses and delivery reporting to him. Today, in recognition of his contributions and expertise, Mike is Chief Logistics Officer with responsibility for warehouses, delivery, inventory, purchasing, customer service call centers, and Haines Voice of the Customer (VOC). Mike joined in the midst of massive change, the very complex and difficult integration of Haines and CMH. When Mike arrived, service to customers and costs were not in line with company’s plans. It was a turn-around situation. Mike returned service to customers to an excellent level, as objectively measured by various metrics and VOC feedback. He built a team of management by bringing on new talented leaders and integrating them with experienced Haines and CMH leaders. He reduced costs while increasing productivity by implementing new ways of doing things, while improving service to customers.


Shawn Gagg of Jaeckle Distributors
Shawn joined Jaeckle Distributors in a Business Intelligence role in the IT department. It was quickly ascertained that Shawn had a lot to offer the company from a business intelligence perspective, but more importantly, he has transformed IT from a department of "keeping things running" to a strategically focused hub of service, support and innovation. Shawn received a well-deserved promotion to CIO in 2015 and he has changed the way Jaeckle Distributors does business today and in the future.


Thank you to those who nominated candidates for this award. For further inquiries, please contact


Past Leadership in Action Award Recipients


Aaron Hormann
Herregan Distributors

Flavia Baggio

Jim Boyce
Roesel-Heck Company, Inc.


Alicia Mabry
J.J. Haines and Company, Inc.

Brian Green
J.J. Haines and Company, Inc.


Chris O'Connor
CMH Space
Flooring Products, Inc.

Renz Verbeek
FlorStar Sales, Inc.

Scott Rozmus
FlorStar Sales, Inc.


David Powell
Erickson's Flooring &
Supply Co, Inc.

Bill Simonson
Jaeckle Wholesale, Inc.

Other Recipients include:


  • Jan Clinite, ISC Surfaces



Community Search
Sign In


11/6/2018 » 11/8/2018
2018 NAFCD Annual Convention